Semana Santa

Semana Santa is Holy Week in South America. Schools have off a total of 11 days and most people take this time to travel. In my mind, Semana Santa = Spring Break! I am so excited because by the time I’m done writing this entry, my mom’s flight will have taken off for Quito. I’m sad that my roommates and friends are leaving, but am happy to be able to show my mom around the city.

Today was “Teacher’s Day” at school. I didn’t even realize this was being celebrated until I was greeted at the door this morning with half of a cherry airhead from one of my students. She gave me a kiss and told me that I was a great teacher. I also received a picture frame, chocolates, and other candies from the kids. It was an early release day and this morning began with an assembly, in which teachers were thanked and given roses. It was cute, but my favorite part of Teacher’s Day was getting to leave at noon! I came home and had a Skype chat with a representative from a teacher’s agency. She just asked me some general questions about where I’d be willing to teach and will begin sending my application to schools.

Yesterday afternoon, we went to the Liga game. Liga is the main soccer (futbol) team of Ecuador. I was tempted not to go because it was raining and there were rumors that it would be sold out. One of the girls made a good point, “I would be disappointed if I didn’t even try to go.” So right after we were dropped off from school we grabbed a taxi and headed to the match. The stadium was huge and we bought tickets for 12$. We were able to sit on the “50 yard line” and watch Liga versus an Argentinian team. It was a really good game and Liga won 2-0.

I’ve got to get everything ready for Mom! Hopefully we will be able to have some great adventures while she’s here 🙂

Leave a comment