I’m Coming Home!

“It is the last week of Stephanie!” My students said at the beginning of the week. Some of the boys felt indifferent to me leaving, but the girls were all very sad. They wanted to hold my hand and hug me at every opportunity. My teacher explained to them that some class routines would have to change, because I would no longer be there as a second set of eyes/hands. She was extremely sad to be losing me, because I really did a lot with the students. I don’t think it will really hit my students until next week, after they have class without me.

One of the special education teachers came to get me out of the class Thursday morning to discuss some of the students. She said she wanted to hear my perspective on the kids to gain a better understanding. I talked with her for about 15 minutes, then returned to my classroom. The lights were off when I opened the door, and all the students jumped out yelling “Surprise!” “Farewell!” and even “Happy Birthday!” They had organized a surprise party for me complete with brownies and cupcakes! It was adorable that they had actually kept a secret from me! The party was great and I was happy we didn’t have to teach the students that afternoon after they’d had Coke and sugar!

Some of the third grade team went out for margaritas after school, which was really nice. Friday felt surreal as I said goodbye to each of my students and collaborating teacher. I wrote my email on the board and told them that they could write me any time and I would write back. It’s only been two days and I’ve already gotten two emails! I told my students they could have their parents each contribute $50 and buy a plane ticket so I could come visit again! I am going to miss them so much.

About half of the student teachers left Friday and Saturday night, which has been weird! We’ve just been hanging out around Quito, eating at our favorite places one last time, and starting to pack. Packing is stressing me out, because I can’t fit everything. I will probably have to unpack and start over – no fun at all. We are getting picked up at 8:30 to head to the airport. Our flight leaves here at 11:30 and we land in ATL at 6 in the morning. I’m hoping I don’t have too much anxiety and am able to sleep on the plane.

I am going to try to catch some rays on my last day here before repacking. Can’t wait to be home in approximately 18 hours 🙂

Leave a comment